Follow on

George ‘follow on means there is always a 2nd chance in life’

Mary ‘I disagree’

George ‘why?’

Mary ‘because the bitter truth of life is we have no control on our choice to select parents and there god doesn’t give us second chance’

George ‘and what else?’

Mary ‘Scuba drivers jumping off heights. only once chance else… gone’

George ‘anything else?’

Mary ‘don’t irritate me now’

George ‘I know you didn’t get a second chance on choice of a husband so am your first and last choice?’

Mary bursts laughing

Mary ‘don’t let me take 2nd chance.. if you irritate me.. I may just take that’

George ‘a news to share…’

Mary ‘what?’

George ‘Am leaving to China to set up a startup so do you plan to come with me?’

Mary ‘common…. why this sudden career shift and radical thought process’

George ‘if life gets too set, then something is wrong.. we need to reset it again and improve our speed of growth’

Mary ‘I disagree.. why work hard, struggle when life is fine’

George ‘ok dear.. am out to China 1 month from now’

3 years latter

George on phone ‘Mary.. a surprise for you’

Mary ‘3 years you were not in touch… so I assumed you are seeking divorce so am now in relation with Harris.. I agree life gave me 2nd chance’

George ‘Mary…I had thought of giving you a castle.. our venture is a huge hit’

Mary ‘congrats George, but I feel i missed you for 1 year, 2nd year reconciled and 3rd year now am with Harris’

George ‘ok.. if you have made up your mind.. no regrets’

George shuts his mobile.. and he gets a knock at door..

George see’s his beautiful neighbot Alice for the first time at his door step..

Alice ‘Hi George, heard about you… my son has completed his engineering. can he get a job in your company’

George ‘hey we can always sit and discuss, you can come in’

Alice ‘are you single?’

George ‘why this question?’

Alice ‘I too am.. once he is settled, i don’t have much to do. my husband is up there in air well settled so…’

George smiles

George ‘you want me to begin a follow on innings’

Alice ‘didn’t get what you say?’

George ‘you are too fast and talkative.. let me first help your son’

Alice smiles..

Alice ‘a dinner with me?’

George ‘oh goodness.. why you took all decisions on your own?’

Alice ‘because I would find you all alone and you look good so thought why not attempt.. as life does give 2nd chance’

George smiles..and looks at the shut mobile…

He opens it..and delete’s Mary’s contact number from the same

Leave a Reply

